MY CHEST DAY ROUTINE!

In honor of National Chest Day (which apparently is every Monday), here’s my latest chest routine.  This workout is meant for both ladies and gents.

(I decided not to make a video for this because I’m not sure if they were even helpful or not.  But I do have videos for my arm routine and my leg routine)

1.  Dumbbell presses (Pyramids, or the “anti-dropsets”)

Pyramid definition: Start out with low weight and perform a high number of reps. Keep adding weight until you can’t do another rep.

I start with 12 reps of 30 lb dumbbells, then 10 reps of 32.5 lb dumbbells, 8 reps of 35 lb dumbbells, etc.  The last set I do is 4 reps of my max weight (40 lb dumbbells).

IMG_7055

IMG_7056

2.  Chest Flys (3×10)

IMG_7067

Be careful not to go too heavy on these, or you’ll hurt your shoulders!  You want to go heavy enough that you can bring them above your head, but still feel it in your chest and not your shoulders.

IMG_7070

3.  Bench press (3×10)

IMG_7064

IMG_7065

4.  Cable chest flys and pushups (superset) (3×10)

Superset definition: A superset is a combination of one exercise performed right after the other with no rest in between them.

I do 10 cable chest flys, 10 pushups, and repeat for 3 sets total.

IMG_7072

Make sure that your arms do not go past your back.  They should start on your sides, and not any further behind your back.

IMG_7074

Pull the cables till they are in front of you, making sure that your body is kept still and only your arms are moving the cables.

IMG_7076

IMG_7077

19 responses to “MY CHEST DAY ROUTINE!

  1. This is great! I am unable to do weights for a bit longer but hope to be able to start getting back into them in the new year. I miss the feeling of being strong in my upper body. Legs are doing well though 😉

  2. Nice workout! BTW, at the 24 Hour Fitnesses that I go to, they have signs saying no photos/videos allowed without permission. Did you get special permission, or are you just a really sneaky photographer? Haha!

  3. AWESOME! I just hit chest this morning and I’m already hurting! Just started the progression sets my self and so far I’ve enjoyed every bit of it.

  4. dang u have some pretty good equipment to work with. Planet Fitness sucks! but i have to make it work because it fits my budget lol!

  5. Great post! thanks for this. iam still a little apprehensive about breaking my workout up into “days” or “body parts” . ihave been trying to find pros and cons. and also enough exercises to fill each day with pertaining to said bodypart. your post was very helpful with helping me to see some exercises icould do for a “chest day”. would you mind telling me how you break up your days? like which body parts do you do on which days.

    • yea, definitely! i’ll post something up later this week, since i’ve gotten several questions about that. 🙂 I also used to just try and fit all my “body parts” into one day, but I’ve found that I get better results if I split them up!

  6. Pingback: WHY WOMEN SHOULD WORK THEIR CHEST | FROM FLAB TO FAB!·

  7. Pingback: MY CURRENT SPLIT ROUTINE | FROM FLAB TO FAB!·

Leave a Reply

