MY THOUGHTS ON INTERMITTENT FASTING

What exactly is intermittent fasting, you ask?

There are several ways to go about this:

  1. You can eat for a 5-6 hour window, and not eat for the rest of the day.  So for example, eat between 2pm and 8pm, and not eat again till 2pm the next day.
  2. Eat as you usually do, but fast 1 or 2 times a week.
  3. Skip a meal occasionally.

I thought this was SO bizarre (craycray, if you will) when I first heard about it……..this goes against EVERYTHING I know about eating healthy – I’ve always heard “eat 6 times a day to keep up your metabolism”, and “always start your day out with a healthy, nutritious breakfast”.  After reading more about it and people’s testimonies, this intermittent fasting thing is starting to make a lot more sense.

Intermittent fasting is a tool for fat loss.  A couple great resources are nerd fitness and the youtube channel thefastingtwins.

The basic science behind this is that when you are fasting, your body will choose to use your stored fat as a source of energy, therefore burning fat.  When you have just eaten, however, your body chooses to use carbs and sugar as a source of energy first, before using your stored fat.  So when you go for a long period without eating, your body will burn fat because it has no other energy source to use.

I’ve actually heard about people achieving great results from this – and it might be something I’d experiment with in the future.  I encourage you guys to check out the links above for more information!  For me personally, I just don’t like to not eat….I’m so accustomed to eating 6 meals a day.  (And I get really grumpy when I don’t eat).  I heard it takes up to several days for your body to get used to this, but it seems pretty challenging.

Any thoughts?  Has anyone tried this?

Let me know if you have read anything about this!  Like this guy here:

90f6b0440a5a5eeb6c9934fe6b5b6785

16 responses to “MY THOUGHTS ON INTERMITTENT FASTING

  1. I eat everyday from 10am to 7pm, so I guess this is kind of INTERMITTENT FASTING, not that I’m doing it because of IF, but just I don’t like to eat later than 7pm 🙂 And I feel great though 🙂

    • awesome! yea i’m thinking of doing a not-so-harcore version to start out with…maybe a 9 hour window like you! then gradually going down to 6 hours maybe… lol

  2. I’ve watched the Hodge Twins YouTube video’s. Their very funny! I decided to try IF about a month ago. My eating window was from 1 to 8. My grand daughters were away for the week with their dad, so it was easier to not eat anything till 1 p.m. and I could workout in the morning before breaking my fast. That week I lost three pounds. But once they came home, trying to refrain from eating when I fed them was much harder, and I was not able to workout till after one. I don’t know if they really had a big impact on results, but according to the the twins, you should workout before breaking your fast. Another issue I faced was trying to get all my calorie requirements within that short window. With the longer runs I was doing for the half marathon, I was burning anywhere from 600 to 1200 calories, which according to My Fitness Pal, I should be eating back since I was already at a calorie deficit. The plus side of that was that I felt satiated by 8 p.m., and because I was not eating later than that, my acid reflux was not causing me any problems whatsoever. However, now I’ve gained weight, and find myself super, super hungry in the morning. So for now I’m back to the regular five to six meals a day. I do know that during lent when we fasted every Friday, I got down to 191 pounds (and I gave up bread…kinda. LOL). Just my two cents.

    • I feel like its easier to do IF when youre not around your family or other people lol only because them eating will make you want to eat and youll just be around more food when you are feeding other people. That’s great that you were losing weight on IF thuogh!!!

    • absolutely!!! i think its such an interesting topic because it goes against everything we are taught lol. hope u check out the references because they are really helpful!

  3. This is so interesting! I’ve never heard of IF before, but I’m totally intrigued and might give this a try. And, I agree with you on it possibly being more challenging to do this around friends/family. We seem to always celebrate something and what better way to do it than with food! Thanks for posting!

  4. Intriguing idea. LIke you said, completely counter to what we’re usually told. Regardless, it sounds like something I might try. Who knows. Maybe it works 🙂

  5. Sounds “gimmicky” – at the end of the day it’s about behavior and calories in/calories out. Its that simple. On the other hand, whatever works. 😉

  6. Hello there

    I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award, I thoroughly enjoy reading your posts and following your progress, so here’s to you all, thank you for sharing. Kind Regards, Bitzyfit!
    I’ve put the rules down for you, but feel free to copy and paste if it helps 🙂

  7. Hey G, Not sure I could do this. I like you enjoy eating and I think like others have said that it would be hard to do with people around. I would also struggle to be nice because when I don’t have food I get hangry. (aka cranky). I can only contain and hold back the hangry for so long sometimes.

Leave a Reply

